45 Ways to a Kick Ass Life — The Good Men Project

45 Ways to a Kick Ass Life — The Good Men Project.

Somewhere there might be an unwritten rule that to be a truly serious blogger you need to write ALL of your own material.

That’s just nonsense. When I find something I like, I’m going to share it and spread the word!     Blogging, after all, is about sharing our thoughts and ideas and sometimes sharing someone else’s thoughts and ideas is just as valuable as pounding them out on the keyboard yourself.

Sure ..I know  we are inundated with self help articles and advice every day of our life.   Still, I happen to like this list of 45 ways to a kick ass life.

Why? Well, for one, I kind of fancy the idea of a kick ass life! But more than that, a few of the points made in this list really resonate in my own life.   Hard lessons learned and to be truthful maybe a few that I still need some work on.

My favorite? #23.

Be eccentric now. Your eccentricities are often the surface of your talents and gifts. Love being weird. Weird is awesome.
 

Yes, weird can be awesome! And.. I’m all about finding awesome in life and awesome in others.   How boring to be someone too cool to be weird.     Do I want to be so concerned with  what others think that I won’t allow myself to freely be ME, quirky and all?

One of my favorite things is watching people. I always enjoy the quirky, eccentric, full spirited ones the most.  I love compassionate people,  and creative people and intelligent people and down to earth people.   I love so many different types of people, but what is more fun than watching someone break into song in the supermarket check out line? Or the individual sporting a style that breaks all the conventional rules of fashion?

Recently I listened  to a broadcast of Ideas Worth Spreading on NPR. (Ted Radio Hour) A young girl, was giving a talk on a website she created.  A long and interesting story to try to retell, but the short take on it is that from my perspective she, in all her brightness and her willingness to dare to be different, wanted to reach all girls struggling to be themselves and meet the world around them with a fierce strength and an open heart.

In her closing statement she said,  “I only have one bit of advise for you.  Be Stevie Nicks.”   I literally laughed out loud.   It took me completely off guard.

Be Stevie Nicks. Seriously, what absolute brilliance from this 17 year old girl.   She gets it. Or at least she gets something important in life. Weird is ok. We are all weird in one way or another. In fact, there is no weird.   Well, maybe the real weird is trying to conform to what others think we should be or trying to be something we really are not.  And if that’s the case,  I’m certainly guilty of being that kind of weird at various times in my life as well.   Very unhappy times of my life.   I’ll take eccentric any day of the week over that.

I love Stevie Nicks.  For her talent, for her quirks, for her style. For the power she is not afraid to show on stage, for letting herself become the music, for her willingness to share her struggles and her train wrecks. For not being afraid to be fully human even when she is terrified of being fully human.  Many of the same reasons the young girl doing the Ted Talk, loves her as well.

thQ526WL8A

So, in the search for AWE I have gathered three very good lessons this week. Be eccentric now.   Contemplate all 45 ways to a kick ass life. Because sure as sunrise, there is something I probably need to learn on that list.   And… be Steve Nicks-like.    Which really means, have the  passion and courage to overcome fear and reveal every ounce of quirky inside me. 🙂

Stevie-In-A-Top-Hat-stevie-nicks-29564442-382-551

Talk to me....leave a comment or Reply

Blogs I Enjoy

One Stylish Life

style everywhere, in everything.

History head in walking boots

following the trail of the people, places and things from an Australian past

AJ's Trash2Treasure BLOG

Welcome to our Trash 2 Treasure world! It is our hope to encourage and inspire others to reuse, rebuild, revamp and reinvent by sharing our ideas in this blog.

Hope* the happy hugger

Life, love, happiness and most of all, kindness...

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

robwriter2000

Writer writes on everything...

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

Brian Gaynor Photography

Capturing Life's Beauty One Photo at a Time

John Caelan

This planet is nothing like the brochure.

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Mary J Melange

A hodgepodge of thoughts, ideas and the reality of life.

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

smilecalm

Life through mindful media

Speak Happiness

Learning to be Fluent in Happiness & Success

Just breathe.

Life is beautiful. And there is so much to be grateful for.

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

anewperspectiveperhaps

This site is about everything from my philosophy on life to the little things that make me laugh. IIt is about living, and breathing, and pausing long enough to take it all in. I hope it makes you laugh, sometimes makes you cry, but always makes you want to come back for another visit. It is your words, and your likes that inspire me to keep writing. And it is through my writing that you have a very large window to my soul. Relax awhile, read, and enjoy!

The Happsters

Spread Positive Vibes. Give Love. Be Happy.

